#### **MINUTES**

#### COLLIER TOWNSHIP BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

## **RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING**

**January 2, 2018** 

6:45 P.M.

- **I. CALL TO ORDER:** Commissioner Macino called the meeting of the Board of Commissioners to order at 6:45 P.M.
  - A. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE
  - B. The Honorable Maureen McGraw Desmet administers the oath of office to Commissioners Wayne M. Chiurazzi, Esq.; Richard Ruffennach and Dawn Williams-Zabicki and to the Tax Collector MaryAnn Cupples-Wisnioski

## C. ROLL CALL:

**BOARD** 

# **STAFF**

George Macino – Present
Wilson Durisko - Present
Wayne Chiurazzi - Present
Dawn Williams-Zabicki-Present
Rick Ruffennach - Present

Chuck Means, Solicitor - Absent
Kevin Brett, Engineer - Present
Craig Campbell, Chief of Police - Absent
Bob Palmosina, PW Director - Absent
Robert Caun, Planning Director - Absent
Brian Ralston, Bldg./Codes Officer - Absent
Rochelle Barry, Parks Director - Absent
Jeff Hinds, Finance Director - Absent
Kyle Thauvette, Twp. Manager - Present
Valerie Salla, Township Secretary - Present

# II. PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no public comments.

## III. REORGANIZATION OF BOARD / ELECTION OF OFFICIALS:

Commissioner Macino called for nominations for a President of the Board of Commissioners.

## A. NOMINATIONS FOR PRESIDENT:

Motion was made by Commissioner Williams-Zabicki, seconded by Commissioner Ruffennach to nominate Commissioner Macino as President. By unanimous vote the motion carried.

#### **B. NOMINATIONS FOR VICE PRESIDENT:**

Motion was made by Commissioner Chiurazzi, seconded by Commissioner Ruffennach to nominate Commissioner Durisko as Vice-President. By unanimous vote the motion carried.

#### IV. NEW BUSINESS:

A. Consider action to approve Resolution 010218-01; A Resolution to appoint Jordan Tax Service as the Deputy Tax Collector per the Agreement.

Motion was made by Commissioner Chiurazzi, seconded by Commissioner Durisko to approve Resolution 010218-01 as stated above. By unanimous vote the motion carried.

B. Consider action to appoint the Post-Gazette as the Collier Township official newspaper of record for public advertising in 2018.

Motion was made by Commissioner Chiurazzi, seconded by Commissioner Durisko to appoint the Post-Gazette as stated above. By unanimous vote the motion carried.

C. Consider action to set 2018 compensation for all non-bargaining unit employees as set forth in the 2018 adopted budget.

Motion was made by Commissioner Williams-Zabicki, seconded by Commissioner Chiurazzi to set the 2018 compensation for all non-bargaining unit employees as stated above. By unanimous vote the motion carried.

D. Consider action to re-appoint Mark C. Turnley and Associates as the Collier Township Auditor for audit year 2018.

Motion was made by Commissioner Durisko, seconded by Commissioner Ruffennach to re-appoint Mark C. Turnley and Associates as stated above. By unanimous vote the motion carried.

E. Consider action to re-appoint Goehring, Rutter and Boehm as the Collier Township Solicitor for 2018 as per the rate schedule submitted.

Motion was made by Commissioner Chiurazzi, seconded by Commissioner Durisko to re-appoint Goehring, Rutter and Boehm as stated above. By unanimous vote the motion carried.

F. Consider action to re-appoint Lennon, Smith, Souleret Engineering, Inc. as the Collier Township Engineer for 2018 as per the rate schedule submitted.

Motion was made by Commissioner Chiurazzi, seconded by Commissioner Ruffennach to re-appoint Lennon, Smith, Souleret as stated above. By unanimous vote the motion carried.

G. Consider action to appoint Nichole Feller as a full time member of the Civil Service Commission for a six (6) year term ending on December 31, 2023.

Motion was made by Commissioner Chiurazzi, seconded by Commissioner Ruffennach to appoint Nichole Feller to the Civil Service Commission as stated above. By unanimous vote the motion carried.

# V. APPOINTMENT OF BOARD COMMITTEES (2018 Board Committees listed below)

A. Administration/Public Affairs

Rick Ruffennach – Chairman George Macino – Co-Chairman

B. Council of Governments (COG)

Dawn Williams-Zabicki – Chairman Rick Ruffennach – Co-Chairman Wilson Durisko – Co-Chairman

C. Finance

George Macino – Chairman Dawn Williams-Zabicki – Co-Chairman

D. Parks & Recreation and Township ActivitiesWilson Durisko – Chairman

Rick Ruffennach – Co-Chairman

E. Planning & Land Use

Dawn Williams-Zabicki – Chairman Wilson Durisko – Co-Chairman

F. Public Safety (Police and Fire)

George Macino – Chairman Wayne Chiurazzi – Co-Chairman

G. Public Works

Wayne Chiurazzi – Chairman Wilson Durisko – Co-Chairman

## VI. ADJOURN REORGANIZATION MEETING:

Motion to adjourn the meeting by Commissioner Chiurazzi, seconded by Commissioner Durisko. The meeting was adjourned at 6:52 PM.

George E. Macino, President
Board of Commissioners

Valerie A. Salla Township Secretary